Shirley town buildings will close to the public beginning Wednesday, Nov. 18

A message to residents from the Town Administrator

Dear Shirley Residents:

On Thursday, Nov. 12, Town officials were notified by a representative from the state Department of Public Health that the Town of Shirley has moved into the “Red” category. The current color-coding system classifies any community with a population under 10,000 and more than 25 cases as a “Red” community. The number of cases in Shirley as of Nov. 12 is 43; a large number of positive cases are related to the state correctional facility located on Shirley property. 

As a result, of the “Red” status, the Town of Shirley is closing all Town-operated buildings to the general public until further notice. We will remain open to the public for in-person business this Monday, Nov. 16, and Tuesday, Nov. 17.

At this time, all Town employees will continue to report to work and departments will remain open. Town officials intend to maintain essential functions and services. The public can contact all departments by phone and e-mail. 

The Shirley Senior Center will be closed to the general public starting this Monday, Nov. 16. However, Meals on Wheels and van service will remain operational for medical appointments and shopping. The service is limited to two persons per trip. Please call Director Marilyn Largey at 978-425-1390 or email her at mlargey@shirley-ma.gov for more information.

The Town of Shirley requests that residents and other individuals seeking to conduct Town business do so remotely when possible — online, by phone, or through the mail. Individuals encountering time-sensitive situations that require immediate attention are advised to contact the appropriate department to determine if an accommodation can be made. Please see below for contact information.

Please be aware that residents may pay bills online by clicking “Pay Bills Online” in the Citizen Action Center on the Town’s home page, or by mailing checks directly to:

Town of Shirley
Department 1270
P.O. Box 986500
Boston MA  02298-6500

Also, there is a secure drop box outside of the entrance to the Town Offices where bills or other documents can be delivered. Please do not put cash in the drop box.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause to our residents; however, this is a necessary step in order to protect Shirley residents and staff, while still providing services to the public.

Sincerely, 
Michael McGovern
Town Administrator

Town Department Contact Information

Town Administrator/Board of Selectmen

Michael McGovern, Town Administrator

978-425-2600, ext. 200

mmcgovern@shirley-ma.gov

Town Clerk

Bill Oelfke, Town Clerk

978-425-2600,ext. 205

clerk@shirley-ma.gov

Treasurer/Collector

Emily Roux, Assistant Treasurer/Collector

978-425-2600, ext. 216

eroux@shirley-ma.gov

Assessors

Jennifer Wilson, Principal Assessor

978-425-2600, ext. 223

jenn.wilson@shirley-ma.gov

Building Inspector and Board of Health 

Sandi Hill, Administrative Assistant

978-425-2600, ext. 260

shill@shirley-ma.gov

Ambulance 

Erin Deforge, Ambulance Billing Clerk

978-425-2600, ext. 250

edeforge@shirley-ma.gov

Sewer Department

Erin Deforge, Administrative Assistant

978-425-2600, ext. 236

edeforge@shirley-ma.gov

Conservation Commission

Mike Fleming, Conservation Agent

978-425-2600, ext. 245

mfleming@shirley-ma.gov

Land Use Office (Planning and Zoning Boards)

Sheryl Belley, Administrative Assistant

978-425-2600, ext. 240

sbelley@shirley-ma.gov

Town Accountant

Amanda Beliveau, Assistant Town Accountant

978-425-2600, ext. 226

hvarney@shirley-ma.gov

Cemetery Committee

Barbara Yocum, Cemetery Committee Chair

978-425-2600, ext. 233

 

Hazen Memorial Library

Deb Roy, Library Director

978-425-2620

shirley@cwmars.org

Council on Aging/Senior Center

Marilyn Largey, Director

978-425-1390

mlargey@shirley-ma.gov

Recreation Office

Tonya Driscoll, Administrative Assistant

978-425-2600, ext. 270

recreation@shirley-ma.gov

Veteran’s Agent’s Office

Mike Detillion, Veteran’s Agent

978-425-2600 ext. 280

mdetillion@shirley-ma.gov

Emergency Services 

In case of an emergency, always dial 911.
Use the numbers below for non-emergency situations.

Shirley Police Department

Samuel Santiago, Police Chief

978-425-2644

ssantiago@shirley-mapd.org

Shirley Fire Department

Troy Cooley, Fire Chief

978-425-4334

tcooley@shirley-ma.gov

Department of Public Works

Brandon Kelly, Director

978-425-2628

bkelly@shirley-ma.gov